Wrath of the Lich King Classic: Phase 4 Overview

Last updated on Sep 25, 2023 at 12:00 by Sellin 2 comments

The following guide covers everything new about Phase 4 in WOTLK Classic.


When Will Phase 4 of WOTLK Go Live?

Phase 4 will be launching on October 10th, with the Icecrown Citadel raid releasing on October 12th.


New Content in Phase 4 of Wrath of the Lich King

  • Tier 10 Raid: Icecrown Citadel.
  • Arena Season 8.
  • New Weekly raid kill quests, venture back into older raid content for emblem rewards.
  • New 5-man Dungeons, The Forge of Souls, Pit of Saron, and Halls of Reflection
  • New 5-man Dungeon difficulty, Defense Protocol: Gamma
  • New Dungeon currency: Defiler's Scourgestone, which can be used to purchase 25 player normal rewards from the Trial of the Crusader Raid.
  • Legendary Axe Shadowmourne Icon Shadowmourne is obtainable, checkout our Shadowmourne guide for an indepth walkthrough on how to complete the quest for this unique Legendary item.
  • Random Dungeon Finder has been added to the game.
  • New Raid reputation The Ashen Verdict.

Icecrown Citadel

The biggest addition in Phase 4 of WOTLK will be the tier 10 raid, Icecrown Citadel. One of Warcrafts most iconic raids featuring 14 bosses. This raid is available on both Normal and Heroic difficulty, though only one of the two may be completed each week.


New Dungeons

There will be three new dungeons added in phase 4 of Wrath of the Lich King Classic starting with the The Forge of Souls, these dungeons must be completed in order to unlock the next, but can be completed in any order following your first completions. The entrance to these dungeons is located in south western Icecrown very close to the entrance of Icecrown Citadel


Defiler's Scourgestones

Defiler's Scourgestone is a new currency that will be awarded to you upon killing a boss inside of a Heroic Defense Protocol: Gamma dungeon. These can be exchanged for any piece of 25-man Trial of the Crusader Normal loot/Ulduar 25-man Hard Mode loot. This vendor can be found in your factions respective badge vendor area.


Random Dungeon Finder

Random Dungeon Finder will allow you the ability to queue for a level appropriate dungeon from your user interface from anywhere in the world. You will be required to choose a role and then will be assigned to a group which consists of 3 dps, a tank and a healer and then placed inside of a random level appropriate dungeon. Completing dungeons via the Random Dungeon Finder tool will give additional rewards based on your level, if below level 80 it will grant bonus experience, if level 80 it will reward you with additional Emblems.


New Best in Slot Gear

With a new tier comes new gear for players to acquire. Below are links to our updated BiS lists for the new content.






Ranged DPS


Melee DPS


Class Role Rankings

If you are interested in what classes are strong for tier 9 raids, check out our PvE tier lists linked below.


Arena Season 10

Phase 4 will also see the launch of the new arena season. If you are interested in what is strong for season 10, check out our PvP rankings linked below.



  • 25 Sep. 2023: Page added.
Show more
Show less