Mage Class Overview

Last updated on Aug 25, 2019 at 21:10 by Blainie 1 comment
General Information

The Mages of Warcraft once centered their powers within the mageocracy of Dalaran. After that kingdom's destruction by the Burning Legion, however, the arcane arts spread to the far corners of the world.

The Mage is a very important and helpful party member. One of the Mage's most powerful abilities is Polymorph, which allows it to control the number of monsters currently attacking the party. The mage is also able to use a teleportation spell, allowing it to travel through the land more quickly. Mages can even summon in food and drink to help everyone recover faster from battle.

1. Races for Mages

Mages can be played as Humans and Gnomes for the Alliance and Undead and Trolls for the Horde in Classic.

2. Mage Specializations

Mages have 3 talent specializations: Arcane, Fire, and Frost.

  • Arcane — This specialization focuses not only on your damaging Arcane spells, but also on the utility of a Mage, helping to manage your Mana, shields and resistances.
  • Fire — This specialization focuses on the destructive aspect of a Mage, with talents leaning towards buffing your Fire spells and damage.
  • Frost — This specialization focuses on slowing enemies and freezing them while they are forced to withstand an assault of Frost damage.

2.1. Resources as a Mage

The primary resource used by Mages is Mana in all specializations.

3. Gearing a Mage

3.1. Armour

Mages are only able to wear Cloth armour.

3.2. Weapons

Mages are able to use Daggers, Swords, Staves, and Wands.

4. Mage Trainers

In order to learn skills and skill ranks, you will need to go to a Mage trainer. Below is a list of all the trainers available to the Alliance and Horde.

4.1. Alliance Mage Trainers

4.2. Horde Mage Trainers

5. Mage Guides for World of Warcraft: Classic

For information on how best to play your Mage in Classic, you can check out the following guides.

6. Changelog

  • 25 Aug. 2019: Guide added.
Show more
Show less