Warlock Class Overview

Last updated on Nov 19, 2023 at 06:10 by Lavender 3 comments

Warlocks were mages that delved too deeply into the roots of demonic power. Consumed by a lust for dark knowledge, they've tapped into chaotic magics from beyond the world. The Burning Legion now feeds them their powers, allowing them to channel destructive energies and call upon the powerful emissaries of their demon masters.


Warlock in Season of Discovery

Find our new guides for Warlock in WoW Classic Season of Discovery below! The new game mode will have players find and utilize Runes that can then be engraved onto their gear to provide them special bonuses that augment already existing abilities or allow the class to use entirely new spells.

With the introduction of new Runes in Season of Discovery, not only will old builds be increased in power, but Warlock now has the option of being played as a Tank.


Warlock Specializations

Warlocks have three talent specializations: Affliction, Demonology, and Destruction.

  • Affliction — This specialization focuses on amplifying the Warlock's damage over time, rather than direct damage.
  • Demonology — This specialization mainly increases the damage of the demons a Warlock can summon, as well as making sure the Warlock itself has more survivability.
  • Destruction — For Destruction Warlocks, fiery, catastrophic damage is of paramount importance and their talent tree reflects it.

Resources as a Warlock

The primary resource used by Warlock is Mana in all specializations.


Races for Warlocks

Warlocks can be played as Humans and Gnomes for the Alliance and Undead and Orcs for the Horde in Classic.


Gearing a Warlock

Warlocks are only able to wear Cloth armour in Classic.

Warlocks are able to use Daggers, Staves, Swords (One-handed), and Wands.


Warlock Trainers

In order to learn skills and skill ranks, you will need to go to a Warlock trainer. Below is a list of all the trainers available to the Alliance and Horde.


Alliance Warlock Trainers


Horde Warlock Trainers


Warlock Guides for World of Warcraft: Classic

For information on how best to play your Warlock in Classic, you can check out the following guides.



  • 19 Nov. 2023: Updated for Season of Discovery.
  • 29 Sep. 2019: Updated trainer locations.
  • 26 Aug. 2019: Removed mention of Dwarves and replaced with Gnomes.
  • 25 Aug. 2019: Guide added.
Show more
Show less