The Nighthold Raid Guides for World of Warcraft

Last updated on Jan 17, 2017 at 19:31 by Furty 3 comments

The Nighthold is a raid instance introduced in the World of Warcraft: Legion expansion. The raid is available in the following difficulties and sizes:

  • Raid Finder;
  • Normal mode (between 10 and 30 players, using the flex system);
  • Heroic mode (between 10 and 30 players, using the flex system);
  • Mythic mode, the hardest difficulty in the game (available only in 20-man size).

The raid is the final part of Tier 19, in terms of PvE progression, and is the first raid to feature Tier sets and bonuses in Legion. The Nighthold houses 10 boss encounters.

Currently, we offer you the following strategy guides:

The raid instance is located in Suramar, and can be quickly and conveniently accessed by the Sanctum of Order portal from Shal'Aran.

Overview of the Bosses

The Nighthold is a large instance, featuring 10 bosses total, 5 of which can be killed in an order of the raid's choosing.

Skorpyron is the first encounter in the instance. It is a relatively simple encounter that has 2 phases that repeat based on time. Phase One involves dealing with the mechanics of Skorpyron himself, many of which involve dodging large and telegraphed abilities. During this time the raid will also need to deal with many adds which have their own mechanics, and avoid the clouds at the edges of the room, which will cause more adds to be summoned if touched. Phase Two is a simple "overload" phase that is very short; during this time the boss is incapacitated and takes extra damage. This phase is triggered every time Skorpyron reaches 100 Energy.

Chronomatic Anomaly is the second encounter in the instance. This fight is technically a single phase, however, the boss will rotate the time passage of the raid between normal time, slow time, and fast time. The duration of the debuffs generated by the boss is affected by the passage of time, as well as the cooldown reduction, periodic effects, cast speed, and attack speed of the raid group. The raid will also have to deal with adds during the encounter which vary in threat level based on the passage of time.

Trilliax is the third encounter in the Nighthold. The raid faces off against a large construct, who will periodically place debilitating foods around the room which need to be soaked by the raid. The construct will cycle between protocols, which act as pseudo phases.

Spellblade Aluriel is one of the 5 bosses that can be fought in an order of the raid's choosing. Aluriel will cycle between elemental masteries, which act as separate phases and feature radically different positioning and strategies. This fight acts as a strict mechanical and positional check for your raid group, as many of the abilities have harsh penalties if players are caught out of position.

Tichondrius is one of the 5 bosses that can be fought in an order of the raid's choosing. This encounter has 2 distinct phases; in Phase One the raid engages the dreadlord, while Phase Two acts as a short intermission. The rub in this fight, however, is that Tichondrius will summon new and powerful adds each time he re-enters Phase One, which greatly increases the difficulty.

Krosus is one of the 5 bosses that can be fought in an order of the raid's choosing. He has a single phase in which he engages the raid largely alone, though he will occasionally summon a group of Fire elementals for the raid to deal with. This encounter has very basic mechanics and a brutal damage check.

High Botanist Tel'arn is one of the 5 bosses that can be fought in an order of the raid's choosing. This encounter is very radically different between Mythic and the other difficulties, with separate mechanics and phases (though it is a 3-phase fight regardless of difficulty). There are 3 targets for most of the fight and small adds are summoned infrequently. This fight is a test of mechanical prowess and it increases in intensity as time passes.

Star Augur Etraeus is one of the 5 bosses that can be fought in an order of the raid's choosing. This is a 4-phase encounter that features a brutal "dance" exclusive to Mythic difficulty. The boss cycles between several elements that augment his abilities in dangerous and potent ways. He will also summon a powerful add in his final phase that can easily demolish the raid group if it is not dealt with promptly.

Grand Magistrix Elisande is the penultimate boss in the Nighthold and the main villain of the Suramar questline story. This is a 3-phase fight, and each phase causes her to manipulate the space-time around the raid in different ways. The raid group, however, can make use of her time bubbles to use her mechanics in ways that are beneficial to the group. This is a grueling mechanical check that lasts a long time and requires patience and precision.

Gul'dan is the final boss in the Nighthold and one of the major antagonists of the Warcraft franchise. He is a 3-phase fight with an array of lethal mechanics and summons for the raid to deal with. It is a very long and challenging encounter and requires absolute focus to bring down with finality.


  • 02 Jan. 2017: Added Nighthold page.
+ show all entries - show only first 2 entries