Tomb of Sargeras Raid Guides for World of Warcraft

Last updated on Jun 20, 2017 at 12:05 by Furty 3 comments

The Tomb of Sargeras is a raid instance introduced in the World of Warcraft: Legion expansion. The raid is available in the following difficulties and sizes:

  • Raid Finder;
  • Normal mode (between 10 and 30 players, using the flex system);
  • Heroic mode (between 10 and 30 players, using the flex system);
  • Mythic mode, the hardest difficulty in the game (available only in 20-man size).

This is the 20th raid tier, in terms of PvE progression, and is the second raid to feature Tier sets and bonuses in Legion.

Boss Order

The order in which the 9 bosses must be tackled is as follows:

  1. Goroth Strategy Guide
  2. 3 paths open up, which you can complete in any order
  3. Maiden of Vigilance Strategy Guide
  4. Fallen Avatar Strategy Guide
  5. Kil'jaeden Strategy Guide

Goroth must be defeated to access the other bosses. After Goroth has been vanquished, the raid is split into 3 paths, which can be approached in the order of your choosing. After these paths have been cleared, you can tackle the final bosses.

Overview of the Instance

The raid instance is located on the Broken Shore, and can be quickly and easily accessed by flight paths.

Goroth is the first encounter in the Tomb of Sargeras. You must kill Goroth to access all the following bosses, many of which can be done in an order of the raid's choosing. It is a single phase, with procedural and repeatable mechanics. The fight focuses on managing the environment in order to survive otherwise lethal mechanics.

The Demonic Inquisition (Atrigan and Belac) is part of the Wailing Halls of the Tomb of Sargeras and can be defeated at any time. This fight is technically a single phase, though it features the Torment Icon Torment mechanic that will transport you into an isolated demonic prison upon reaching maximum. Players will have to collect Remnants of Hope and battle the desolate horror within in order to escape with their lives and return to continue the fight against the Inquisition.

Harjatan is the first boss in the Abyssal Throne wing of the raid. The raid can choose when to tackle this boss, but he must be defeated in order to access Mistress Sassz'ine. It is a simple "tank and spank" style encounter with reinforcements joining the fray at 2 major intervals. While his mechanics are conventional and telegraphed, failure to execute can result in instant destruction, reinforcing Harjatan the Bludger's status as a boss with the ability to deal a serious punch.

The Sisters of the Moon (Huntress Kasparian, Captain Yathae Moonstrike, and Priestess Lunaspyre) can be tackled any time after Goroth has been defeated. They must be brought down in order to access The Desolate Host. This encounter is teeming with mechanics and complexity, presenting a healthy challenge to any challengers. There are 3 distinct phases to the fight, and in each phase the group faces off against a different active Sister. The other 2 Sisters will be incorporeal and unassailable but they will continue to barrage the group with their potent magics. The floor is actually the Font of Elune Icon Font of Elune, continually changing based on the phases of the moon. Standing on the light side of the moon will continually increase the damage taken from Arcane mechanics, while standing on the dark side of the moon will increase the damage from the Shadow mechanics. Correctly managing your current debuff with respect to the ability timers is essential to the success of the raid.

Mistress Sassz'ine is available once Harjatan has been brought down. It is a 3-phase encounter that focuses primarily on environmental mechanics. The group will have to deal with enemies at key times and use their unique attributes in order to prevail against other abilities and foes present during the fight.

The Desolate Host can be accessed after the Sisters of the Moon are defeated. This fight takes place in 2 simultaneous planes; the corporeal realm and the spirit realm. The Engine of Souls will engage the corporeal players while Soul Queen Dejahna stands watch over the spirit realm. Both bosses share health. At 30%, The Desolate Host is formed and engages the raid directly. Players of Warlords of Draenor may find this encounter very similar in style and tempo to Gorefiend from Hellfire Citadel.

The Maiden of Vigilance is the seventh boss in the Tomb. This is a 2-phase encounter where the Maiden will bring to bear the combined might of both Holy and Fel magic. Players will be branded with either Light Infusion Icon Light Infusion or Fel Infusion Icon Fel Infusion, and coming into contact with a player or mechanic of the opposite type will cause Unstable Soul Icon Unstable Soul. This fight requires patience and coordination to emerge victorious.

The Fallen Avatar is the penultimate peril housed within the Tomb of Sargeras. The fight has 2 distinct phases; early on, the awakened Avatar of Sargeras struggles to regain full power and will engage the raid locked in place. He will corrupt nearby machinery and titan constructs which will also battle the group as he attempts to reach full Energy, while the raid group will attempt to suppress his ascendance as long as possible. Upon finally reaching 100 Energy he shatters his bonds and the floor, dropping the raid down into the Fel below and bringing his full power to bear.

Kil'jaeden the Deceiver is the final and most intricate encounter in the Tomb of Sargeras. A 5-phase fight, players will take the fight to the Eredar Lord himself on his command ship. It is a lengthy and demanding encounter that will require everything you have in order to achieve total victory over one of the Legion's greatest leaders.