Dracthyr Race Guide for World of Warcraft: Dragonflight: Availability, Racials, Mounts, Starting Zone, Available Classes

Last updated on Jan 13, 2024 at 17:40 by Stan 1 comment

Dracthyr are a new playable race in the Dragonflight expansion. The following guide provides all the necessary information we currently know about them, including racial abilities and mounts, starting zone, available classes, and more.


How to Unlock the Dracthyr in World of Warcraft

The Dracthyr Evoker is only available to players who purchased the Dragonflight expansion.


Available Classes

Dracthyr are limited to Evokers at the beginning of the Dragonflight expansion. However, it is possible that more classes will be able to play as them in the future.

You can learn more about Evokers in our dedicated guide linked below.


Starting Level

Dracthyr Evokers start at Level 58, and by the time you finish the starting zone, you will hit Level 60.


Dracthyr Starting Area

Dracthyr Evokers start in the Forbidden Reach.

The Forbidden Reach, once the secret training grounds of the Black Dragonflight, has descended into a broken and deserted landscape, lost to the ravages of time. Those few dragons who remember the island know that it is taboo to visit, a place where something dreadful fell. Those who braved the shores found little of consequence in this cauldron-like caldera apart from a shattered landscape and nature-claimed ruins half buried by magma.

Deep beneath the surface, vast underground chambers contain armies of dracthyr, resting in magical stasis for thousands of years. The dracthyr are waking up from their slumber as an ancient, magical surge ripples through the Forbidden Reach.


Racial Abilities

The Dracthyr's iconic Soar has become the equivalent to Dragonriding in Patch 10.2.5 and fully supports Dragonriding abilities. It is on a 10-second cooldown, available to players who complete the starting zone and unlocked Dragonriding.

Below is a complete list of racial abilities Dracthyr players will have access to in the new expansion:

  • Chosen Identity Icon Chosen Identity — Activate to automatically assume your Visage when you leave combat or after Soaring.
  • Glide Icon Glide — Reduces your falling speed. You can activate this ability with the jump key while falling. (Instant, 1 second cooldown)
  • Soar Icon Soar — Muster your strength and launch into the air. Cooldown begins when you land. (1.5-second cast, 3 minute cooldown)
  • Empowered Soaring Icon Empowered Soaring — Your Soar is empowered after co-opting new flight techniques from the dragons of the Dragon Isles. Soar is now equivalent to Dragonriding, granting access to Vigor and all Dragonriding abilities.
  • Expedited Takeoff Icon Expedited Takeoff — Soar's cooldown is reduced to 10 seconds.
  • Principles of Soaring Icon Principles of Soaring (Passive) — While Soaring through the air, pointing yourself toward any given direction sends you into that direction. Pointing yourself downward grants more momentum. Evening out can transfer that momentum forward. Pointing yourself upward slows you down. When at your slowest, you will start to fall slowly toward the ground, forward and down. You also gain access to Surge Forward Icon Surge Forward and Skyward Ascent Icon Skyward Ascent.
  • Skyward Ascent Icon Skyward Ascent — Flap upward, gaining height at the cost of some momentum. (Instant, Max 1 Charge)
  • Surge Forward Icon Surge Forward — Flap forward a short distance, gaining speed. (Instant, Max 2 Charges)
  • Tail Swipe Icon Tail Swipe — Lash out with your tail, knocking enemies within 8 yards into the air. (Instant, 1.5 minute cooldown)
  • Visage Icon Visage — Switch between your Dracthyr and Visage forms. Your Visage emanates magic, significantly increasing out-of-combat health regeneration for your party. (Instant)
  • Wing Buffet Icon Wing Buffet — With a powerful flap of your wings, knock away enemies in front of you. (Instant, 1.5 minute cooldown)
  • Awakened Icon Awakened (Passive) — Increases Mastery by 1.8%.
  • Discerning Eye Icon Discerning Eye (Passive) — Increases your Perception by 2%. Perception increases your ability to spot rare reagents while gathering.

Racial Mounts

The Dracthyr racial mounts are the Vorquin. They can be purchased from Treysh in the Forbidden Reach during the second chapter of the intro. If you forget to buy them, do not worry. You will find Tethalash in Valdrakken who sells them at 26, 34.

You will receive one rare mount from a quest free of charge.

  • Bronze Vorquin Icon Bronze Vorquin (Rare mount) costs 40 Gold;
  • Crimson Vorquin Icon Crimson Vorquin (Rare mount) costs 40 Gold;
  • Obsidian Vorquin Icon Obsidian Vorquin (Rare mount) costs 40 Gold;
  • Sapphire Vorquin Icon Sapphire Vorquin (Rare mount) costs 40 Gold;
  • Armored Vorquin Leystrider Icon Armored Vorquin Leystrider (Epic mount) costs 80 Gold;
  • Majestic Armored Vorquin Icon Majestic Armored Vorquin (Epic mount) costs 80 Gold;
  • Swift Armored Vorquin Icon Swift Armored Vorquin (Epic mount) costs 80 Gold.

How Transmog Works for the Dracthyr Race in Dragonflight

Dracthyr have two forms: a Visage Form and a Dragon Form. Transmog is different between them.

While in Visage Form, transmog works the standard way and all armor slots are visible.

Transmog in Dragon Form is more complex. You pick some armor for your Dragon Form when you create your character or at the Barber Shop later. Only Shoulders, Tabards and Belt appearances will carry over from your Visage Form's transmog and be visible in Dragon Form.

You also cannot choose any belt; it must have a three-dimensional buckle and old belts will not work. If you transmogged some shoulders, but would like to have the Barber Shop option visible instead, you must first remove the shoulder transmog.



  • 13 Jan. 2024: Updated for Patch 10.2.5 with Soar changes.
  • 05 Nov. 2022: Guide added.
Show more
Show less