The Dragon Isles Zone Guide for World of Warcraft: Dragonflight

Last updated on Jul 13, 2023 at 08:28 by Stan 1 comment

The Dragon Isles are the homeland of Azeroth's dragonflights, and the main zone of the Dragonflight expansion.


What Are the Dragon Isles?

The Dragon Isles are a new continent introduced in the Dragonflight expansion. They consist of 6 zones — four leveling zones and two max-level zones.

The Dragon Isles worldspace will be larger than Northrend, according to an interview.


The Dragon Isles Zone Progression

The Dragon Isles zone progression is linear, and you must tackle the zones in a particular order for your first time leveling.

As you progress, you will make your way through the Waking Shores, roiling with elemental power; the vast expanse of the Ohn'ahran Plains; the frosty peaks of the Azure Span, and the majestic spires and temples of Thaldraszus.


Waking Shores

The Waking Shores is the first zone you will visit in Dragonflight. It is a wild untamed land that has begun to reawaken. Protodragons soar through the sky, elementals are rising as the magic of the land does, and the land is rife with opportunities.

The Explorers' League and The Reliquary will side with players to uncover what these mysterious lands have to offer.

In the Waking Shores, you will learn more about the red dragonflight led by Alexstrasza, the Lifebinder.

The main enemies of the red dragonflight in this zone are the Djaradin. These half-giants wield the power of magma. The Djaradin awoke from their slumber alongside the Dragon Isles to create chaos anew.

The Waking Shores is also the ancestral home of the black dragonflight. Wrathion joins you as he comes to terms with the state of the dragonflight, which is in a diminished state.

The Waking Shores host a few surprises, allowing brave adventurers to observe ducks in their natural habitat as they take flight (through Dragonriding) in the very skies where the greatest of creatures are bound to soar.


Ohn'ahran Plains

After the Waking Shores, the second zone players will venture into is called the Ohn'ahran Plains. The area is named after the wild god of wind, Ohn'ahra, who has appeared before as a large spirit eagle that helped guide the centaurs to the Dragon Isles many years before. She blessed them, took their caravan across the isles, and showed them the plains where they could make their new home.

The centaur encountered the green dragonflight here and fought for dominance only to find that neither they nor the green dragonflight was stronger than the other. As a result, they made peace with each other.

The centaur took the plains and the green dragonflight made their homes in the groves.

You will meet centaur clans led by Maruuk and Teera, who helped found their new life in the Ohn'ahran Plains.

With such a large expanse of land to see, the engineers for WoW made additional improvements to allow for greater view distance so that you can fully enjoy the beauty of this rich landscape.


Azure Span

Azure Span is the third zone and one of the biggest zones created to date in the game. It is inspired by Grizzly Hills.

As you explore it, you will come upon a wide-open tundra alight with golds and reds until you reach the next level of elevation where you will get to see the snow. The majority of the zone is covered in snow and ice with giant frozen waterfalls and ice rivers.

Here, you will aid the tuskarr alongside the blue dragonflight and follow the story of Kalecgos as he ventures into Sindragosa's archives.



Thaldraszus offers something more pristine compared to other zones with beautifully intact buildings in the seat of power for all five dragonflights and home of the dragons. Here, vertical lofty mountains and great cave systems create a compelling new land to explore.

Thaldraszus is home to the bronze dragonflight and their power over time lends itself to a variety of gameplay options and adventures for players to undertake.

You will find Tyrhold in Thaldraszus. Built by the Titan keeper, Tyr, this ten-thousand-year old Titan technological marvel houses great aqueducts that reach across the valley. It was Tyr who helped the Aspects fight Galakrond and when they came to settle in the Dragon Isles, he also built this facility.

Even though Tyr is long gone, the dragonflights still worship him.


Max-Level Zones in Dragonflight

The Dragon Isles currently have two max-level zones. The first one is Forbidden Reach, added in Patch 10.0.7.

The second max-level zone is Zaralek Cavern. It was added in Patch 10.1.


Valdrakken (Main City Hub)

The main hub in Dragonflight is called Valdrakken. The zone is located in Thaldraszus. It is a culmination of all the dragons' efforts and provides several vignettes to enjoy, from the blue dragonflight's public library to the red and green dragonflight's own separate gardens.

The city does have an Auction House.



  • 13 Jul. 2023: Updated for Patch 10.1.5.
  • 01 May 2023: Updated for Patch 10.1.
  • 23 Apr. 2022: Guide added.
Show more
Show less