Warning It appears that you may be blocking the ads, and we are fine with it (read more here). That said, it would really be awesome if you decided to whitelist our website or make a donation :) You can also send us Bitcoins (1DEkropiHPWBmfJxogFaXQscfzhmdpTti4)!

Destruction Warlock DPS Artifact Talents/Traits and Relics (Legion 7.3.5)

Last updated on Jun 12, 2017 at 14:48 by Furty 292 comments

Table of Contents

General Information

This page shows you how to level up the Artifact and how to choose the right Relics for your Destruction Warlocks. It is updated for World of Warcraft Legion 7.3.5.

The other pages of our Destruction Warlock guide can be accessed from the table of contents on the right.

About Our Author and Reviewer

This guide has been written by Furty, who has an illustrious history in the World of Warcraft raiding scene and race for World First. He has been a member of guilds such as Serenity, Midwinter, and many more, and is currently raiding in Future. He plays most classes at the highest level. You can follow him on Twitter and watch him play on Twitch.

This guide has been reviewed and approved by Deepshades, a top raider who plays in Method; you can watch his stream on Twitch and follow him on Twitter.

1. Artifact Progression for Destruction Warlock — First 35 Points

Artifact Progression

1.1. Early Point Investment

After acquiring the initial starting point,  Icon Flames of the Pit, take the bottom right path into  Icon Eternal Struggle. Though this trait is largely worthless, it spans the centre of two high value traits. Snag  Icon Impish Incineration, an exceptional single point trait for single target. Next talent into  Icon Burning Hunger for the Immolate Icon Immolate Critical Strike chance, which is good for both damage and Soul Shard generation. Backtrack to the start of the tree and take the upper path into  Icon Devourer of Life, which is largely ineffectual as you will not be casting much Drain Life Icon Drain Life.  Icon Residual Flames is a great trait, even after the Roaring Blaze Icon Roaring Blaze nerfs. Grab your first Golden Trait,  Icon Conflagration of Chaos, which is great for priority add damage and the strongest trait for single target and cleave.

1.2. Second Golden Trait

On the right side of the tree, grab  Icon Lord of Flames, your second Golden Trait. This point is pretty mediocre but since we already have the nearby nodes it is worth grabbing earlier rather than later.  Icon Lord of Flames is useful for pushing damage checks, as it is considerably stronger than Summon Doomguard Icon Summon Doomguard on single target when it is off cooldown. It is also useful for sustained AoE or cleave though such scenarios are rare.

1.3. Final Point Investment

From the starting node, head left through  Icon Master of Disaster and  Icon Demonic Durability into  Icon Soulsnatcher, which is a great single target trait.  Icon Chaotic Instability is a very high value trait for both single target and cleave, and leads into our final Golden Trait,  Icon Dimension Ripper. Though this trait is solid overall, it is a little too far out to be acquired any earlier.

 Icon Fire and the Flames should be your next acquisition, before heading right into  Icon Fire From the Sky. Finalize your  Icon Scepter of Sargeras with the single point in  Icon Planeswalker.

2. Patch 7.2: 35+ Trait Path for Destruction Warlock

Artifact Progression Above Level 35

Patch 7.2 has replaced the 35-54 Paragon system with several additional new traits becoming available upon acquisition of the 35th point. All of the previous Relic traits will also unlock a 4th rank, along with a new Paragon system becoming available after all traits have been filled (via Concordance of the Legionfall Icon Concordance of the Legionfall) which all additional Artifact Power will be spent on.

Detailed below is our suggested maxing order after 35 traits:

  1. Flames of the Black Harvest Icon Flames of the Black Harvest
  2. Flames of Sargeras Icon Flames of Sargeras
  3. Cry Havoc Icon Cry Havoc
  4. Flame Rift Icon Flame Rift
  5. Fourth rank of  Icon Burning Hunger
  6. Fourth rank of  Icon Residual Flames
  7. Fourth rank of  Icon Chaotic Instability
  8. Fourth rank of  Icon Fire and the Flames
  9. Fourth rank of  Icon Master of Disaster
  10. Fourth rank of  Icon Soulsnatcher
  11. Fourth rank of  Icon Fire From the Sky
  12. Fourth rank of  Icon Eternal Struggle
  13. Fourth rank of  Icon Devourer of Life
  14. Concordance of the Legionfall Icon Concordance of the Legionfall

3. Relic Priority for Destruction Warlock

You should prioritize item level over preferable Relics if the disparity is greater than 2 item levels.

  1.  Icon Burning Hunger for Immolate Icon Immolate criticals and shard generation
  2.  Icon Residual Flames for Immolate Icon Immolate damage
  3.  Icon Chaotic Instability for Chaos Bolt Icon Chaos Bolt damage
  4.  Icon Fire and the Flames for Incinerate Icon Incinerate cast speed
  5. Incinerate Icon Incinerate damage from  Icon Master of Disaster
  6.  Icon Soulsnatcher for shard refunds
  7. Any other damage Relic
  8. Any defensive Relic

4. ChangeLog

  • 12 Jun. 2017: Page reviewed and deemed updated for 7.2.5.
  • 27 Mar. 2017: Added path for Patch 7.2 traits.
  • 12 Jan. 2017: Quick update to Relic priority (Immo>CB>Incin>SS refund)
  • 09 Jan. 2017: Checked and confirmed for Patch 7.1.5.
  • 10 Dec. 2016: Swapped Fire From the Sky and Master of Disaster.
  • 29 Aug. 2016: Added.
+ show all entries - show only 10 entries
Force desktop version
Force mobile version