Shadowlands Patch 9.1 Mounts: Newly-Obtainable Mounts in Chains of Domination

Last updated on Oct 18, 2021 at 02:11 by Mwahi 2 comments

This guide is dedicated to the various mounts added in Patch 9.1. You will find out which mounts have been added and gain information about how to obtain them.


New Mounts in Patch 9.1

Patch 9.1: Chains of Domination adds 45 new collectable mounts to the game in addition to various other changes. You can now ride all mounts in The Maw after you finish the appropriate quest line and can also unlock flying in the four Covenants' zones of the Shadowlands. To get a better understanding of all the changes you can take a look at our Patch 9.1 guide.


TomTom - your personal Navigation assistant

TomTom is a navigation addon that helps you find the correct places where you need to go in order to obtain some of the mounts. We strongly suggest you download this addon as it makes navigating the various zones a lot easier.

In this guide you will notice coordinates in the form of "/way 25.5, 23.3". When using TomTom all you have to do is copy that command and use it in game — after doing so you will notice a waypoint added to your minimap at these exact coordinates. This will make finding the required items and places significantly easier. You can use this link to obtain more information about TomTom.


9.1 Mounts and where to find them

The 45 new mounts are split into different categories in order to make it easier and faster to understand where to obtain them. There are 19 Covenant-related mounts, 7 from Dungeons/Raids/PvP, 6 from Reputation, 9 from various Zones and daily quests, 4 Achievement mounts, and 1 special World Event mount. Note, however, that there can be some overlap in where a mount may be categorized.

In addition, three of these mounts require a lengthy commitment to obtain and have their own, separate guides dedicated to explaining how.


World Event Mount - Illidari Doomhawk

Out of all the newly-added mounts, the Illidari Doomhawk Icon Illidari Doomhawk is the only one associated with WoW's Anniversary event starting in November.

Name Zone Requirements Detailed information
Illidari Doomhawk Icon Illidari Doomhawk Tanaris Slay Doomwalker Only available once WoW's 17th Anniversary event starts in November.

"Once a year, a rift in time appears, and strange things occur. The Illidari scouts and Doomwalker were quite surprised to find themselves in Tanaris."


Mounts added in Patch 9.1.5

While this page is dedicated to mounts added in Patch 9.1 we will also mention 2 mounts that are added in Patch 9.1.5. Both the Favor of the Val'sharah Hippogryph Icon Favor of the Val'sharah Hippogryph and the Mage-Bound Spelltome Icon Mage-Bound Spelltome are only available during the Legion Timewalking Event.

Name Zone Requirements Detailed information
Favor of the Val'sharah Hippogryph Icon Favor of the Val'sharah Hippogryph Dalaran Purchase from Aridormi for 5000 Timewarped Badge Icon Timewarped Badge Only available during the Legion Timewalking event
Mage-Bound Spelltome Icon Mage-Bound Spelltome Dalaran Complete the Achievement — A Tour of Towers Icon A Tour of Towers Only available during the Legion Timewalking event

Val'Sharah Hippogryph

"These majestic hippogryphs are as close to a being of the Emerald Dream as any resident of Azeroth can be, and do not bond with a rider easily."

  1. Earn Timewarped Badge Icon Timewarped Badges by doing Timewalking dungeons and content;
  2. Once you have 5000 Badges, purchase the mount from Aridormi in Dalaran, next to the Flightmaster.

Soaring Spelltome

"In the forgotten depths of the Dalaran library, this oversized tome was found flapping madly around the room. Open the pages of this arcane-infused book and hitch a ride to magical adventure."

To obtain this mount you need to complete the A Tour of Towers Icon A Tour of Towers Achievement which consists of 7 boss encounters from the Mage Tower on the Broken Shore. You can find our guides for each of the encounters below:

  1. Closing the Eye
  2. The God-Queen's Fury
  3. The Highlord's Return
  4. Thwarting the Twins
  5. An Impossible Foe
  6. Feltotem's Fall
  7. End of the Risen Threat

These encounters may only be accessed during a Legion Timewalking event.


Other Collection Guides

Looking for information on how to obtain the newest collectables from Patch 9.2, Eternity's End? Go check out our newest collection hubs below!



  • 18 Oct. 2021: Page added.
Show more
Show less