Dungeon Run Guide for Kobolds and Catacombs

Last updated on Dec 22, 2017 at 13:14 by Kat 41 comments

Dungeons Runs were introduced in the Kobolds and Catacombs adventure. They can be accessed through the Solo Adventures menu, and they are free to play, without any kind of limitation.

Dungeon Run

Dungeon Run Overview

In Dungeon Runs, you select the class you wish to play as and are provided with a fixed, 10-card deck, and you will have to fight up to 8 bosses. There are no second chances, and if you die against a boss, you will have to start all over again. Defeating all 8 bosses completes the Dungeon Run.

The interesting aspect is that with each boss you defeat, you will have the opportunity to add cards to your deck from the options the game provides you with (much like you would choose cards for your Arena deck). Moreover, the bosses you face are not fixed, so you will never know who you will face next.

On this page, we will list all the known information about Dungeon Runs, such as which bosses you might face at which point in a Dungeon Run, what options you have for expanding your deck, and what rewards there are for completing Dungeon Runs.


Expanding Your Deck

When you defeat the first boss, you will get to choose a treasure to place into your deck (treasures provide either a passive effect or simply a powerful card), and then you will also get to choose one of 3 sets of 3 cards each. These sets, called buckets, are themed (some relying more on spells, others on minions, others on certain schools of damage, and so on).

From here on, after each boss you defeat in your Dungeon Run, you will get to choose another bucket, and you after every other boss (so after the third, fifth, and seventh) you will also get to choose another treasure.



Dungeon Run Treasures

Below, we list all the currently known treasures you can be offered. It appears that the set of 3 treasures from which you can choose is random each time.

  • Aleatoric Cube
  • Amulet of Domination
  • Archmage Staff
  • Bag of Coins
  • Bag of Stuffing
  • Battle Totem
  • Blade of Quel'Delar
  • Boots of Haste
  • Captured Flag
  • Cloak of Invisibility
  • Crystal Gem
  • Dr. Boom's Boombox
  • Embers of Ragnaros
  • Gloves of Mugging
  • Glyph of Warding
  • Golden Kobold
  • Greedy Pickaxe
  • Grommash's Armguards
  • Hilt of Quel'Delar
  • Horn of Cenarius
  • Justicar's Ring
  • Khadgar's Scrying Orb
  • Loyal Sidekick
  • Magic Mirror
  • Mask of Mimicry
  • Mysterious Tome
  • Orb of Destruction
  • Party Portal
  • Portable Forge
  • Portable Ice Wall
  • Potion of Vitality
  • Primordial Wand
  • Robe of the Magi
  • Rod of Roasting
  • Scepter of Summoning
  • Scroll of Confusion
  • Shifting Hourglass
  • Small Backpacks
  • Totem of the Dead
  • Vorpal Dagger
  • Wand of Disintegration
  • Wax Rager
  • Wish
  • Wondrous Wand

As an additional bonus, if you manage to acquire both Blade of Quel'Delar and Hilt of Quel'Delar, you will be rewarded with the all-powerful Quel'Delar!



Dungeon Run Buckets

Below, we list all of the bucket themes that each class can be offered. Like with treasures, it does not seem that there is any significant pattern to the groups of buckets you are offered, although you cannot be offered the same bucket more than once at a time. Within each bucket, the actual cards that you will be offer differ wildly, being chosen from seemingly a large pool of potential cards. In other words, no two "Frost"-themed buckets will have the same cards offered (or at least, it is unlikely that this will happen). Finally, it is worth noting that it seems like choosing a bucket will increase the chances that it will appear again as a choice in the future, thus allowing you to form a more cohesive theme.

  • Dungeon Run Druid Guide:
    • Balance
    • Cult of C'Thun
    • Jade Fangs
    • Jungle King
    • Jungle Quest
    • Mana Growth
    • Natural Defense
    • Restoration
    • Stampede
    • Stomp
    • Taunt
    • Wise Decisions
  • Dungeon Run Hunter Guide:
    • Beast Training
    • Big Beasts
    • Deathrattle
    • Defense
    • Legendary
    • Secrets
    • Shots
    • Smugglers
    • Summoner
    • Tracker
    • Weapons
    • Wee Beasts
  • Dungeon Run Mage Guide:
    • Arcane
    • Big Spells
    • Chaos
    • Defense
    • Elementals
    • Fire
    • Frost
    • Giant Army
    • Heroic Power
    • Legendary
    • Lost Secrets
    • Magical Friends
    • Unique
  • Dungeon Run Paladin Guide:
    • Divine Shield
    • Dragon Master
    • Healing
    • Helping Hand
    • Justice
    • Legendary
    • Many Blessing
    • Murlocs
    • Sacred Arms
    • Secrets
    • Silver Hand
    • Taunt
  • Dungeon Run Priest Guide:
    • Bag of Tricks
    • Combo Caster
    • Cult of C'Thun
    • Discipline
    • Domination
    • Dragon Priest
    • Elementals
    • Holy
    • Last Rites
    • Resurrection
    • Shadow
    • Unique
  • Dungeon Run Rogue Guide:
    • Adrenaline Rush
    • Assassin
    • Blademaster
    • Cult of C'Thun
    • Death Dealer
    • Evasive
    • Exhaustion
    • Greed
    • Jade Lotus
    • Outlaws
    • Thief
  • Dungeon Run Shaman Guide:
    • Battlcrier
    • Destruction
    • Elementals
    • Farseer
    • Frost
    • Jade Lotus
    • Mechanized
    • Murlocs
    • Mutations
    • Overload
    • Restoration
    • Totems
  • Dungeon Run Warlock Guide:
    • Blood
    • Cult of C'Thun
    • Destruction
    • Dire Demons
    • Discard
    • Huge Hand
    • Lifesteal
    • Little Legion
    • Sacrifice
    • Swarm
    • Taunt
    • Unique
  • Dungeon Run Warrior Guide:
    • Armor
    • Berserker
    • Charge!
    • Dragon Heart
    • Everybody Hurts
    • Legendary
    • Pirates
    • Re-Enforcer
    • Recruiter
    • Smash!
    • Taunt
    • Weapons


Dungeon Run Bosses

The difficult of the bosses increases as you advance through the Dungeon Run, with the Level One boss being typically extremely weak, whereas the final boss is usually quite difficult. Note also that your own Hero's health increases as you progress.

The boss encountered at each level is random for each Dungeon Run. There is a specific pool of bosses that can appear on each level and some bosses are able to appear on multiple different levels with a different starting Health, Hero Power, and deck. However, no boss will appear more than once in the same Dungeon Run. There is also a separate pool of starter bosses and final bosses for the first and final level, respectively.

The lists below show the known bosses that can appear on each level.

  1. Level One:
  2. Level Two:
  3. Level Three:
  4. Level Four:
  5. Level Five:
  6. Level Six:
  7. Level Seven:
  8. Level Eight:


There are 3 Kobolds and Catacombs card packs up for grabs through the Dungeon Run. You will receive them as rewards for defeating 1, 6, and 16 Dungeon Run bosses, respectively.

Moreover, if you complete a Dungeon Run with each of the nine classes, you will be rewarded with the Candle King card back.



  • 22 Dec. 2017: Added Kraxx boss guide link.
  • 20 Dec. 2017: Added Shaman, Rogue, Warlock, and Warrior class guides.
  • 19 Dec. 2017: Final 2 Treasures added.
  • 17 Dec. 2017: Most encounters added, as well as Mage class guide.
  • 17 Dec. 2017: Several Treasures added.
  • 13 Dec. 2017: Treasure Vault and Overseer Mogark encounters added.
  • 11 Dec. 2017: Treasure list finalised and information on assembling Quel'Delar added.
  • 10 Dec. 2017: 6 Additional Boss listings added.
  • 09 Dec. 2017: Additional Bosses added.
  • 08 Dec. 2017: Kobolds and Catacombs Dungeon Run added. All key information that is known is available.
Show more
Show less