Warning It appears that you may be blocking the ads, and we are fine with it (read more here). That said, it would really be awesome if you decided to whitelist our website or make a donation :) You can also send us Bitcoins (1DEkropiHPWBmfJxogFaXQscfzhmdpTti4)!

Protection Paladin Tank Artifact Talents/Traits and Relics (Legion 7.3.5)

Last updated on Feb 01, 2018 at 20:12 by Vlad 192 comments

Table of Contents

General Information

This page shows you how to level up the Artifact and how to choose the right Relics for your Protection Paladins. It is updated for World of Warcraft Legion 7.3.5.

The other pages of our Protection Paladin guide can be accessed from the table of contents on the right.

About Our Reviewer

This guide has been reviewed and approved by Treckie, who has been a long-time leading Protection Paladin who has competed for world first kills for 5 years. He is one of the casters for both last year's and this year's upcoming Mythic Dungeon invitational. You can watch his stream on Twitch and you can follow him on Twitter.

1. Artifact Progression for Protection Paladins

Artifact Progression

As a Protection Paladin, for the first 35 Artifact points, there is really only one recommended progression path. The idea with this Artifact progression path is to pick up the  Icon Tyr's Enforcer and  Icon Bulwark of Order golden traits, but not to go for the third golden trait,  Icon Light of the Titans, right away, as it is lackluster. Bulwark of the Order will provide noticeable shielding in 5-man content. While the AoE damage of Tyr's Enforcer might not feel very powerful, the main draw with the talent is that it damages everything close to whatever target you hit with Avenger's Shield Icon Avenger's Shield, allowing you to build threat on more mobs.

  1.  Icon Eye of Tyr
  2.  Icon Truthguard's Light
  3.  Icon Faith's Armor
  4.  Icon Righteous Crusader
  5.  Icon Hammer Time
  6.  Icon Consecration in Flame
  7.  Icon Tyr's Enforcer
  8.  Icon Resolve of Truth
  9.  Icon Bulwark of Order
  10.  Icon Scatter the Shadows
  11.  Icon Unflinching Defense
  12.  Icon Painful Truths
  13.  Icon Sacrifice of the Just
  14.  Icon Bastion of Truth
  15.  Icon Light of the Titans
  16.  Icon Forbearant Faithful
  17.  Icon Stern Judgment
  18.  Icon Unrelenting Light
Artifact Progression Above Level 35

After the first 35 points, you should distribute the other points as follows.

  1. Bulwark of the Silver Hand Icon Bulwark of the Silver Hand
  2. Holy Aegis Icon Holy Aegis
  3. Defender of Truth Icon Defender of Truth
  4. Blessed Stalwart Icon Blessed Stalwart
  5.  Icon Consecration in Flame
  6.  Icon Hammer Time
  7.  Icon Stern Judgment
  8.  Icon Righteous Crusader
  9.  Icon Unflinching Defense
  10.  Icon Scatter the Shadows
  11.  Icon Faith's Armor
  12.  Icon Resolve of Truth
  13.  Icon Bastion of Truth

The golden Blessed Stalwart Icon Blessed Stalwart trait is not particularly strong (especially considering the 5 other traits you have to go for to reach it), so if you are going for a more DPS-oriented path, take  Icon Consecration in Flame,  Icon Hammer Time, and  Icon Stern Judgment before investing in the 6 traits required for Blessed Stalwart.

2. Relic Choice for Protection Paladins

When choosing which Relics to use, while it is sometimes worth sacrificing 1 weapon item level, we recommend always taking the one that grants you the highest item level, regardless of the benefit it offers. When having to choose between Relics that grant the same item level, chose based on the following trait enhancement recommendations.

Most traits are just small increases in throughput in either survivability or damage. We recommend looking out for the  Icon Unflinching Defense trait, as it gives more leeway with cooldown usage for raiding, which can end up having a much bigger impact than any other trait.

Aside from  Icon Unflinching Defense, other defensive traits are:  Icon Resolve of Truth and  Icon Bastion of Truth (especially with the Holy Shield Icon Holy Shield talent).

For pure damage output, these relics are worth sacrificing a few item levels for:

  1.  Icon Consecration in Flame;
  2.  Icon Hammer Time.

Even though we consider the above text to be satisfactory, you can find more information (and some tentative rankings) on the Netherlight Crucible page.

3. ChangeLog

  • 01 Feb. 2018: Added a mention about having added relic priorities to the Netherlight Crucible page.
  • 30 Jan. 2018: Slightly updated the relic priority regarding survivability.
  • 28 Aug. 2017: Slightly updated relic priority.
  • 13 Jun. 2017: Added a small mention regarding Blessed Stalwart, following changes to it in Patch 7.2.5.
  • 28 Mar. 2017: Added path for the Artifact traits added in Patch 7.2.
  • 10 Jan. 2017: Updated the Relic recommendations slightly.
  • 17 Oct. 2016: Updated Artifact progression path introduction text and slightly updated Relic mentions.
  • 19 Sep. 2016: Clarified that Stern Judgment should be taken before Forebearant Faithful in the Artifact progression, and slightly tweaked Relic recommendations.
  • 29 Aug. 2016: Added.
+ show all entries - show only 10 entries
Force desktop version
Force mobile version