Ny'alotha, the Waking City Raid Guides (BfA 8.3)

Last updated on Jan 22, 2020 at 18:54 by Vlad 1 comment
General Information

Ny'alotha, the Waking City is a 12-boss raid instance added in World of Warcraft Patch 8.3, launching on January 21st/22nd. It represents the 25th tier of content in World of Warcraft. Ny'alotha is available in LFR, Normal, Heroic, and Mythic difficulties.



Ny'alotha, the sleeping city, has awakened. For the first time in millennia, N'Zoth sits on his throne within the Black Empire. His armies flood from their dark halls, once again wreaking havoc on Azeroth. As the world shudders from these invasions, a desperate plan is hatched. Champions from the Horde and Alliance are gathered to face this ancient enemy within his own realm for one final confrontation that will decide the fate of the universe.


Entrance to Ny'alotha, the Waking City

The entrance to Ny'alotha is located in either Uldum or the Vale of Eternal Blossoms, depending on which zone is under attack by N'Zoth (which changes with each lockout). In either case, the entrance will be marked with an obelisk symbol on the map of the respective zone.


Unlock Schedule

Note that the dates below are for the NA realms. For the EU realms, the unlock dates are 1 day later, due to the maintenance schedules.

  • January 21, 2020 — Normal and Heroic Difficulties
  • January 28, 2020 — Mythic and Raid Finder Wing 1
  • February 11, 2020 — Raid Finder Wing 2
  • February 25, 2020 — Raid Finder Wing 3
  • March 10, 2020 — Raid Finder Wing 4

Boss Guides and Pages


Raid Skip

After defeating Wrathion, you will receive the Ny'alotha: MOTHER's Guidance quest and must collect 4 Titan Core Icon Titan Cores from Ra-den, 4 Prophetic Eye Icon Prophetic Eyes from Il'gynoth, and 4 Dragon Heart Icon Dragon Hearts from Vexiona to gain access to the raid skip that takes you directly to Carapace of N'Zoth. Normal and Heroic difficulties have different raid skip quests and you must complete them separately. One of each items will drop per difficulty each week, meaning the quest is going to take four weeks to complete.



For all the loot in Ny'alotha, include pets and mounts, please refer to our dedicated guide.


Boss Order

The boss order in Ny'alotha is mostly not linear, but you do need to defeat all the bosses of each wing of the raid instance in order to access the next one, as follows.

  1. Wrathion, the Black Emperor is the first boss in the instance, and defeating him unlocks Maut and The Prophet Skitra, which can be attempted in any order. These 3 bosses together make up the first wing, the Vision of Destiny. Ny'alotha Map - Annex of Prophecy
  2. When both Maut and Prophet Skitra are defeated, the next 4 bosses (Dark Inquisitor Xanesh, The Hivemind, Shad'har the Insatiable, and Drest'agath) are unlocked, and these can also be done in any order. This is the second wing, the Halls of Devotion. Ny'alotha Map Ny'alotha Map - The Hive Ny'alotha Map - The Ritual Chamber Ny'alotha Map - Maw of Gor'ma Ny'alotha Map - Warren of Decay
  3. As you defeat bosses in the Halls of Devotion, you progressively gain access to bosses in the third wing, the Gift of Flesh: Ny'alotha Map - Twilight Landing Ny'alotha Map - Terrace of Desolation Ny'alotha Map - Chamber of Rebirth
  4. When all 3 bosses in the Gift of Flesh are defeated, the raid can access the penultimate encounter, the Carapace of N'Zoth. Ny'alotha Map - Locus of Infinite Truths
  5. Finally, when this is complete, the raid can fight N'Zoth the Corruptor himself.


Loot in the Ny'alotha includes weapons and armor pieces in all difficulties: item level 430 for LFR, 445 for Normal, 460 for Heroic, and 475 for Mythic. The loot dropped by the final boss will be 10 item levels higher on all difficulties; this means that, for example, a piece of Azerite gear from a Normal N'Zoth kill will be item level 455, not 445.

In addition to this, the following pets can all drop in Ny'alotha: Aqir Hivespawn Icon Aqir Hivespawn, Eye of Corruption Icon Eye of Corruption, Fractured Obsidian Claw Icon Fractured Obsidian Claw, Ra'kim Icon Ra'kim, and Void-Scarred Anubisath Icon Void-Scarred Anubisath.

Players can also obtain the Ny'alotha Allseer Icon Ny'alotha Allseer mount from Mythic N'Zoth and Wriggling Parasite Icon Wriggling Parasite from the Glory of the Ny'alotha Raider Icon Glory of the Ny'alotha Raider achievement.

Just as in past raids, there is a raid-specific Essence, The Formless Void (Replica of Knowledge Icon Replica of Knowledge + Symbiotic Presence Icon Symbiotic Presence), which is obtained and upgraded through collecting Encrypted Ny'alothan Text Icon Encrypted Ny'alothan Texts.



There are 26 achievements to be earned in Ny'alotha. We present them here according to the difficulty you need to complete them in.



  • Vision of Destiny Icon Vision of Destiny — Defeat Wrathion, Maut, and Prophet Skitra on any difficulty.
  • Halls of Devotion Icon Halls of Devotion — Defeat Xanesh, Vexiona, The Hivemind, and Ra-den on any difficulty.
  • Gift of Flesh Icon Gift of Flesh — Defeat Shad'har, Drest'agath, and Il'gynoth on any difficulty.
  • The Waking Dream Icon The Waking Dream — Defeat Carapace of N'Zoth and N'Zoth the Corruptor on any difficulty.


  • Smoke Test Icon Smoke Test — Defeat Wrathion in Ny'alotha, the Waking City after defeating 10 Crackling Shards within 3 seconds of each other on Normal difficulty or higher.
  • Mana Sponge Icon Mana Sponge — Defeat Maut in Ny'alotha, the Waking City after defeating a Forbidden Manifestation on Normal difficulty or higher.
  • Phase 3: Prophet Icon Phase 3: Prophet — Defeat the Prophet Skitra in Ny'alotha, the Waking City after defeating three Disciples of the Prophet on Normal difficulty or higher.
  • Buzzer Beater Icon Buzzer Beater — Defeat Dark Inquisitor Xanesh in Ny'alotha, the Waking City after safely eliminating a Void Orb with less than 3 seconds remaining on Voidwoken 3 times on Normal difficulty or higher.
  • Realizing Your Potential Icon Realizing Your Potential — Defeat the Hivemind in Ny'alotha, the Waking City after defeating 3 Evolved Specimen on Normal difficulty or higher.
  • You Can Pet the Dog, But... Icon You Can Pet the Dog, But... — Defeat Shad'har the Insatiable in Ny'alotha, the Waking City after having everyone /pet him on Normal difficulty or higher.
  • Temper Tantrum Icon Temper Tantrum — Defeat Drest'agath in Ny'alotha, the Waking City after triggering Throes of Agony twice within 60 seconds on Normal difficulty or higher.
  • Total Annihilation Icon Total Annihilation — Defeat Vexiona in Ny'alotha, the Waking City after allowing every player to be hit by Annihilation at least 30 times on Normal difficulty or higher.
  • How? Isn't it Obelisk? Icon How? Isn't it Obelisk? — Defeat Ra-den in Ny'alotha, the Waking City after destroying 2 obelisks with Unstable Void on Normal difficulty or higher.
  • Bloody Mess Icon Bloody Mess — Defeat Il'gynoth, Corruption Reborn in Ny'alotha, the Waking City after defeating 10 Bloods of Ny'alotha in under 3 seconds on Normal difficulty or higher.
  • Cleansing Treatment Icon Cleansing Treatment — Defeat the Carapace of N'Zoth in Ny'alotha, the Waking City after defeating all Synthesis Growths within 10 seconds on Normal difficulty or higher.
  • It's Not A Cult Icon It's Not A Cult — Defeat N'Zoth the Corruptor in Ny'alotha, the Waking City after all players have accepted the Gift of N'Zoth on Normal difficulty or higher.
  • Glory of the Ny'alotha Raider Icon Glory of the Ny'alotha Raider — Complete the other achievements mentioned above and earn a Wriggling Parasite Icon Wriggling Parasite.






  • 22 Jan. 2020: Added raid skip information.
  • 17 Jan. 2020: Page added.
Show more
Show less