Covenants in Shadowlands Expansion

Last updated on Aug 18, 2020 at 19:00 by Seksixeny 1 comment

This page will contain all information that you require for the covenants in Shadowlands, with links to guides for each specific covenant and related systems. This page will be updated as more information becomes available throughout Shadowlands Beta and beyond.


Covenants in the Shadowlands

Each zone of the Shadowlands has a covenant that rules over it, with each having a different goal and presence in their land. While they are usually united in the defense of the Shadowlands, players will find that the Jailer and his allies have sown seeds of distrust and outright war between the Covenants, a recurring theme which will be present during the whole Shadowlands leveling experience.

The covenants of each zone are as follows:


The Kyrians of Bastion

The Kyrians are a noble, angelic people that ensure the peace and order of their lands in Bastion are not disturbed. They build constructs to both protect and enforce their laws, as well as being the source of the Spirit Healers on Azeroth.

You can read more about them on our dedicated Kyrian guide.


The Necrolords of Maldraxxus

The Necrolords are made up of races and beings that many would consider evil on Azeroth, such as liches and warlords. They pride themselves on their strength and any who prove to be weak are experimented on relentlessly.

You can read more about them on our dedicated Necrolord guide.


The Night Fae of Ardenweald

The Night Fae fulfill the same role as many of the nature spirits on Azeroth, acting as guardians of nature and ensuring the cycle of life and death goes on uninterrupted.

You can read more about them on our dedicated Night Fae guide.


The Venthyr of Revendreth

The Venthyr act as punishers of the proud and arrogant souls that stand before them, these thralls forced to suffer their punishment, lest they wish to be sent to the Maw instead.

You can read more about them on our dedicated Venthyr guide.


Rewards from Covenants

Players that join a covenant will receive a number of rewards for their loyalty: unique cosmetics, abilities and dungeon-specific buffs that can be unlocked by being a member of the covenant associated with the zone the dungeon is located in.



Players will receive a mount, pet, transmog set, all of which are in the style of their chosen covenant, as well as special cloak appearances that look like back attachments.

Below are the plate sets that players will receive from their chosen covenant.


New Abilities

Each covenant will provide players with one signature and one class-specific ability. Signature abilities are shared between members of the same covenant, while the class-specific abilities are different for each class.

You can read more about the abilities on our Covenant Abilities hub page.


Covenant Dungeon Buffs

By becoming part of a covenant, you become able to grant your party unique buffs in Shadowlands dungeons. Learn more about these buffs on our detailed guide below!


Changing Covenants

Blizzard have stated that players will be able to change covenants, but at a heavy price when going back to a covenant the player has been part of before. What is required in order to change is not known yet, but it was compared to the cost of changing between Aldor and Scryer reputations in Burning Crusade, and will likely take a good amount of time and effort to accomplish. Check out detailed guide on covenant change below for updates as things are implemented in the beta.



Soulbinds allow players to bind themselves to a soul of one of their covenant, granting benefits that are normally not available to the player.

These soulbinds can be upgraded through an ability tree which will be progressily unlocked as you gather renown with your Covenant. You will also be able to socket Conduits into certain slots of the ability tree.

These Conduits are not consumed on use and drop like any other items from Raids, PvP, Mythic+ and other end game pursuits, in addition to the normal loot tables. Their power is tied to their item level, which is in turn tied to the difficulty of the content where they dropped.



  • 18 Aug. 2020: Updated with the most recent beta info on covenants.
  • 16 May 2020: Updated to include the Covenant Abilities hub.
  • 03 Nov. 2019: Page added.
Show more
Show less