Warning It appears that you may be blocking the ads, and we are fine with it (read more here). That said, it would really be awesome if you decided to whitelist our website or make a donation :) You can also send us Bitcoins (1DEkropiHPWBmfJxogFaXQscfzhmdpTti4)!

Shadow Priest DPS Artifact Talents/Traits and Relics (Legion 7.2)

Last updated on Mar 28, 2017 at 01:01 by Furty 206 comments

Table of Contents

General Information

This page shows you how to level up the Artifact and how to choose the right Relics for your Shadow Priests. It is updated for World of Warcraft Legion 7.2.

The other pages of our Shadow Priest guide can be accessed from the table of contents on the right.

About Our Author and Reviewer

This guide has been written by Furty, who has an illustrious history in the World of Warcraft raiding scene and race for World First. He has been a member of guilds such as Serenity, Midwinter, and many more, and is currently raiding in Myst. He plays most classes at the highest level. You can follow him on Twitter and watch him play on Twitch.

This guide has been reviewed by Juzu, a Shadow Priest who plays in Method. You can watch his stream on Twitch.

1. Artifact Progression

Artifact Progression
  1.  Icon Void Torrent
  2.  Icon Void Siphon
  3.  Icon Unleash the Shadows
  4.  Icon To the Pain
  5.  Icon Thrive in the Shadows
  6.  Icon From the Shadows
  7.  Icon Mind Shattering
  8.  Icon Mass Hysteria
  9.  Icon Thoughts of Insanity
  10.  Icon Touch of Darkness
  11.  Icon Call to the Void
  12.  Icon Sinister Thoughts
  13.  Icon Creeping Shadows
  14.  Icon Sphere of Insanity
  15.  Icon Void Corruption
  16.  Icon Mental Fortitude
  17.  Icon Death's Embrace
  18.  Icon Darkening Whispers
Artifact Progression Above Level 35

Patch 7.2 has replaced the 35-54 Paragon system with several additional new traits becoming available upon acquisition of the 35th point. All of the previous traits will also unlock a 4th rank, along with a new Paragon system becoming available after all traits have been filled (via Concordance of the Legionfall Icon Concordance of the Legionfall) which all additional Artifact Power will be spent on.

Detailed below is our suggested maxing order after 35 traits:

  1. Darkness of the Conclave Icon Darkness of the Conclave
  2. Fiending Dark Icon Fiending Dark
  3. Mind Quickening Icon Mind Quickening
  4. Lash of Insanity Icon Lash of Insanity
  5. Fourth rank of  Icon Touch of Darkness
  6. Fourth rank of  Icon To the Pain
  7. Fourth rank of  Icon Creeping Shadows
  8. Fourth rank of  Icon Unleash the Shadows
  9. Fourth rank of  Icon Mind Shattering
  10. Fourth rank of  Icon Void Corruption
  11. Fourth rank of  Icon Death's Embrace
  12. Fourth rank of  Icon From the Shadows
  13. Fourth rank of  Icon Thoughts of Insanity
  14. Concordance of the Legionfall Icon Concordance of the Legionfall

2. Relic Choice

When choosing which Relics to use, always take the one that grants you the highest item level (more on this below), regardless of the benefit it offers. When having to choose between Relics that grant the same item level, you should prioritise them based on this list:

  1.  Icon Touch of Darkness
  2.  Icon To the Pain
  3.  Icon Creeping Shadows
  4.  Icon Unleash the Shadows

Regarding the item level difference when choosing Relics, consider the following.

  • In case of a 1 item level difference, it is not worth replacing a higher-ranked Relic with a lower one.
  • In case of a 3 item level difference, you can replace a higher-ranked Relic with a lower one (from the list above).
  • In case of a 5 item level difference, you can replace any Relic from the list above with any other Relic, whether the new Relic contributes to your DPS output or not.

3. ChangeLog

  • 28 Mar. 2017: Added path for new 7.2 traits.
  • 10 Jan. 2017: Updated Relic priority for Patch 7.1.5.
  • 31 Oct. 2016: Added a mention of how having Mangaza's Madness can affect Relic choice and also added a clarification of how to account for item level differences provided by different Relics.
  • 10 Oct. 2016: Updated the Relic priority.
  • 29 Aug. 2016: Added.
Force desktop version
Force mobile version