Warning It appears that you may be blocking the ads, and we are fine with it (read more here). That said, it would really be awesome if you decided to whitelist our website or make a donation :) You can also send us Bitcoins (1DEkropiHPWBmfJxogFaXQscfzhmdpTti4)!

Guardian Druid Tank Artifact Talents/Traits and Relics (Legion 7.3.5)

Last updated on Mar 18, 2018 at 15:20 by Vlad 188 comments

Table of Contents

General Information

This page shows you how to level up the Artifact and how to choose the right Relics for your Guardian Druids. It is updated for World of Warcraft Legion 7.3.5.

The other pages of our Guardian Druid guide can be accessed from the table of contents on the right.

About Our Reviewer

This guide has been reviewed and approved by Treckie, who has been a long-time leading tank who has competed for world first kills for 5 years. He is one of the casters for both last year's and this year's upcoming Mythic Dungeon invitational. You can watch his stream on Twitch and you can follow him on Twitter.

1. Artifact Progression for Guardian Druids

Please note that at this stage in the Legion expansion, unlocking your pre-Patch 7.2 artifact traits happens almost instantly, and as such, choosing a particular path through them is irrelevant.

Afterwards, it takes a bit more time (although not that much) to reach Concordance of the Legionfall Icon Concordance of the Legionfall. Optimizing your path here is more worthwhile.

Artifact Progression

For the first 35 Artifact points, the Guardian Druid Artifact progression path is mostly straightforward, but there is one to choice to be made at a certain point.

1.1. Shared Path

The first part of the progression path is the same no matter what choice you make later on. You will aim to go for  Icon Embrace of the Nightmare as your first golden trait, by choosing the following traits, in order.

  1.  Icon Rage of the Sleeper
  2.  Icon Iron Claws
  3.  Icon Vicious Bites
  4.  Icon Wildflesh
  5.  Icon Bear Hug
  6.  Icon Perpetual Spring
  7.  Icon Bloody Paws
  8.  Icon Jagged Claws
  9.  Icon Embrace of the Nightmare

1.2. Adaptive Fur Versus Gory Fur

At this point, you will need to choose if you want to unlock  Icon Adaptive Fur or  Icon Gory Fur as your second golden trait. We recommend Adaptive Fur, as going down this path is quicker. However, Gory Fur provides a greater survivability increase.

If you are going for  Icon Adaptive Fur, simply take  Icon Reinforced Fur and then Adaptive Fur.

If you are going for  Icon Gory Fur, then take  Icon Sharpened Instincts,  Icon Ursoc's Endurance, and then Gory Fur.

Regardless of your choice, your next step should be to take the golden trait that you chose not to take first.

Once you have unlocked the first 3 golden traits, all that is left is to take any remaining traits up to the new traits added in Patch 7.2.

  1.  Icon Bestial Fortitude
  2.  Icon Mauler and  Icon Roar of the Crowd
  3.  Icon Ursoc's Bond

1.3. Patch 7.2 Traits for Guardian Druids

Artifact Progression Above Level 35

For the traits added in Patch 7.2, you should follow this order:

  1. Fortitude of the Cenarion Circle Icon Fortitude of the Cenarion Circle
  2. Scintillating Moonlight Icon Scintillating Moonlight
  3. Fleshknitting Icon Fleshknitting
  4. Pawsitive Outlook Icon Pawsitive Outlook
  5.  Icon Jagged Claws
  6.  Icon Vicious Bites
  7.  Icon Ursoc's Endurance
  8.  Icon Wildflesh
  9.  Icon Bestial Fortitude,  Icon Perpetual Spring,  Icon Reinforced Fur,  Icon Mauler, and  Icon Sharpened Instincts, in any order
  10. Concordance of the Legionfall Icon Concordance of the Legionfall

2. Relic Choice for Guardian Druids

When choosing which Relics to use, the benefit the relic offers is important, and you should be willing to sacrifice item levels to gain the desired trait.

2.1. Survivability

For survivability, the traits to look out for are, in rough order:

  1.  Icon Ursoc's Endurance;
  2. Scintillating Moonlight Icon Scintillating Moonlight;
  3.  Icon Reinforced Fur;
  4.  Icon Wildflesh;
  5.  Icon Bestial Fortitude.

Keep in mind that these traits all work slightly differently, and obviously the Ironfur Icon Ironfur relics have little impact against magic, while  Icon Wildflesh gains strength the more you actively use Frenzied Regeneration Icon Frenzied Regeneration.

Both  Icon Sharpened Instincts and  Icon Perpetual Spring are very weak traits, as Survival Instincts Icon Survival Instincts is generally way too strong already, so reducing damage taken during it further is overkill, and Perpetual Spring reduces the cooldown of Barkskin Icon Barkskin by 3% per stack, which is less than 3 seconds per rank.

2.2. Damage Output

The best offensive traits are, in rough order:

  1.  Icon Jagged Claws;
  2.  Icon Vicious Bites;
  3.  Icon Mauler.

While some of the defensive traits are fairly strong, the impact of  Icon Jagged Claws is hard to ignore; it can be worth sacrificing up to 40 item levels on a relic just to get Jagged Claws. This trait has greater impact in Mythic+ than any of the defensive traits, and even for raiding it is very valuable.

3. ChangeLog

  • 18 Mar. 2018: Significantly revamped relic priority.
  • 12 Sep. 2017: Updated relic priority.
  • 12 Jun. 2017: Page reviewed and deemed updated for 7.2.5.
  • 27 Mar. 2017: Added path for the Artifact traits added in Patch 7.2.
  • 16 Dec. 2016: Removed a mention of Relics that enhance Roar of the Crowd, since none actually exist.
  • 29 Aug. 2016: Added.
+ show all entries - show only 10 entries
Force desktop version
Force mobile version